Rhode Island Genealogical Society

About Our Society

The Rhode Island Genealogical Society was begun in 1975 by a small group of individuals interested specifically in Rhode Island families and the problems inherent in tracing them. Since then, we have grown to include over 600 members from across the United States, Canada and Mexico, all working to uncover our Rhode Island roots.
The Society publishes a quarterly named for that pursuit. Rhode Island Roots features many Rhode Island records, such as cemetery and tax lists, General Assembly petitions, civil and military records, and genealogical articles -- all with a wealth of information on Rhode Island families. Other features include state census records, articles about early Rhode Islanders, queries, and our list of RI volunteer researchers.
Each year the Society holds two workshops, two lectures, and our Annual Meeting in May. The workshops and lectures held throughout Rhode Island bring stronger focus to local subjects and/or families concentrated in certain areas of the state. Recordings of lectures presented to the Society are usually available to members for purchase.

Primary Contacts
General Information & Queries: Diane Boumenot
Membership: Larry Wilson
Events: Helen Smith
RIGS Reporter Newsletter: Rachel Peirce
Treasurer: Gary McShane
Webmaster: Larry Wilson
Officers and Directors
President: Maureen Taylor
Immediate Past President: Vacant
1st Vice President: Diane Boumenot
2nd Vice President: Helen Smith
Treasurer: Gary McShane
Assistant Treasurer: Matthew McCoy
Corresponding Secretary: KarenLu LaPolice
Recording Secretary: John Tew
Director - 3-year (Exp. '23): Carol Gafford
Director - 3-year (Exp. '24): Heather Kisilywicz
Director - 3-year (Exp. '25): Barbara Cummings
Director - 1 Year Term: Shellee Morehead
Director - 1 Year Term: Doug Corey
Director - 1 Year Term: Rachel Peirce
Director - 1 Year Term: Susan Taylor
Awards Committee: Cherry Fletcher Bamberg
Hospitality Committee: Rachel Peirce
Library Committee: Helen Smith
Membership Committee: Chester Browning
Nominating Committee: Chester Browning
Publications Committee: Cherry Fletcher Bamberg
RI Roots Editor: Cherry Fletcher Bamberg
RIGS Reporter Editor: Rachel Peirce
Reception Committee: Vacant
Technology Committee: Larry Wilson
Special Projects and Programs
NERGC Representative: Vacant
Alternate NERGC Representative: Barbara Cummings